EMILIO A. TORRES-NETTO

MD PHD FWCRS

HONORS, PRIZES AND AWARDS

2023 Waring Memorial Award

International Society of Refractive Surgery American Academy of Ophthalmology (San Francisco, USA)

The Waring Memorial Award for a Young Ophthalmologist recognizes an ISRS member early in his/her career who has demonstrated a commitment to ISRS, as well as a commitment to the promulgation of knowledge and the practice of refractive surgery. This award honors George O. Waring III, MD for his commitment to the profession and ISRS. The International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS), a partner of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, is the leading worldwide organization for refractive and cataract surgeons.

2023 KOL Key Opinion Leader, 2023 List

Media Mice (Singapore, Singapore)

Global Ophthalmologist KOL Influencers List 2023 as one of the top 50 global ophthalmologists with a solid social media presence.

2023 World College of Refractive Surgery and Visual Sciences Fellow Award

WCRS&VS (Baton Rouge, USA)

Awarded in recognition for knowledge, achievement, expertise and commitment to the advancements of the specialty of Refractive Surgery. FWCRS Certification in Refractive Surgery is indicative of the highest level of achievement of education, training, experience, and expertise in the field of Refractive Surgery.

2022 High Scoring Accepted Papers

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 39th Congress of the ESCRS (Milan, Italy)

2022 Jose Barraquer-Medaille

Brazilian Association for Cataract and Refractive Surgery (BRASCRS)

José Ignacio Barraquer Moner was known as "the father of modern refractive surgery", Founder and President of the Barraquer Institute of America, Director of the Ophthalmology departments of the Marly Clinic and the Lleras Acosta in Bogotá Institute, and author of several national and international scientific publications, among other highlights. He was awarded 16 decorations by governments of various countries, and received 17 honorary designations of Doctor Honoris Causa, Honorary Citizen and Distinguished Guest or Guest of Honor from different cities and universities. José Ignácio Barraquer developed 19 original surgical techniques.

2022 KOL Key Opinion Leader, 2022 List

Media Mice (Singapore, Singapore)

According to the Media Mice agency, it "distinguishes a special group of world-leading ophthalmologists who also have a strong presence on social media". Dr. Torres-Netto was honored to enter this Top 50 Key Opinion Leaders in 2022. Media Mice (Singapore, Singapore)

2021 Best Paper of Session - Crosslinking

American Society for Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) 2021 ASCRS-ASOA Symposium & Congress (Los Angeles, USA)

The years-long work of our Zurich group introduces a new surgical treatment modality for keratoconus and provides access to treatment for more and more patients.

Award Title: "Results of a Prospective Study Using Individualized FluenceCorneal-Cross-Linking in Ultra-Thin Corneas – the sub400 Protocol"

2020 First prize "Refractive Surgery"

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 38th Congress of the ESCRS (Amsterdam, Holland)

2020 ESCRS First Prize for Refractive Surgery was awarded to Emilio Torres-Netto from Switzerland for his paper entitled "Corneal cross-linking for treating infectious keratitis: final results of the prospective randomized controlled multicentre trial."

Dr Torres-Netto's prospective, randomised phase III study set out to analyse the time to corneal epithelization with photoactivated chromophore for infectious keratitis-corneal cross-linking (PACK-CXL) as a first-line treatment in early infectious corneal ulcers, and compare it to antimicrobial therapy, which is the current standard of care.

2020 First prize "Refractive Surgery»

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 24th ESCRS Winter Meeting (Marrakech, Morocco)

First Prize in the Refractive category went to Emilio Torres-Netto (Switzerland) for his paper in the "What News from Cornea?" session, showing how inflammation and haze can be optimized in refractive surgeries.

2019 First prize "Refractive Surgery»

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 37th Congress of the ESCRS (Paris, France)

First prize in the refractive category was given to Emilio Torres-Netto MD, Switzerland, for his presentation "Stromal bed smoothness after excimer laser surface ablation as a key element for the expression of inflammatory genes". The results showed that the optimization of new algorithms or energy settings allowed for reduction of the inflammatory response after refractive laser surgery.

Torres-Netto - Oct 2023

-

2019 Best Clinical Case Presentation Award

Brazilian Association for Cataract and Refractive Surgery (BRASCRS) 10th Brazilian Congress of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Brasilia, Brazil)

Best Clinical Case Presentation, BRASCRS 2019

Theme: Keratoconus

2019 Best Free Paper Award

Brazilian Association for Cataract and Refractive Surgery (BRASCRS) 10th Brazilian Congress of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Brasilia, Brazil)

Refractive Surgery

Theme: Topography-guided excimer laser ablation

2019 Best Case Presentation Award - Cornea Day

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 23rd ESCRS Winter Meeting (Athens, Greece)

Best Case Presentation Cornea Day, ESCRS Winter Meeting 2019 Ocular Surface Disease: What Worked and What Did Not

2018 Award for outstanding abstract

International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) World Ophthalmology Congress (Barcelona, Spain)

Cross-linking

Award Title: "Oxygen Diffusion Limits the Biomechanical Effectiveness of Iontophoresis-assisted Transepithelial Corneal Cross-Linking"

2018 1st winner of the ICO-Allergan Advanced Research Fellowship

International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO)

Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (Honolulu, USA)

The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) and Allergan have announced that Dr. Emilio de Almeida Torres Netto has been selected as the inaugural winner of the ICO-Allergan Advanced Research Fellowship, following a unanimous decision by a world leading panel of judges.

"It was a unanimous decision," says Berthold Seitz, Director of the Department of Ophthalmology at Saarland University Medical Center, Homburg/Saar, Germany, and Director of ICO Fellowships. "Torres Netto truly fulfilled all the criteria; he has published extensively in the field, has numerous conferences contributions and has an excellent research project in keratoconus and corneal crosslinking (CXL)."

Award title: "Factors modulating biomechanics of corneal tissue"

2017 Accepted abstracts with high score

European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) 35th Congress of the ESCRS (Lisbon, Portugal)

2017 Best Paper of Session - PRK, LASIK und Crosslinking

American Society for Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) 2017 ASCRS-ASOA Symposium & Congress (Los Angeles, USA)

2015 Paper Presentation Award

Brazilian Glaucoma Society (SBG)

16th International Symposium of the Brazilian Glaucoma Society

Award title: Implantation of drainage device for glaucoma and longevity of corneal transparency

2013 Best presentation of scientific work (poster - 2nd place)

Brazilian Glaucoma Society (SBG)

20th International Symposium on Ophthalmology Update (Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Award title: "Toric Intraocular Lenses - To What Extent the Independence of Glasses is possible After Cataract Surgery"

2012 Winner of the Best Paper South Region Award

Brazilian Council of Ophthalmology (CBO)

20th Brazilian Congress on Blindness Prevention and Visual Rehabilitation (Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Award Title: "Increased Expression of the Intercellular Adhesion Molecule in the Choroid and Sclera of Hypercholesterolemic Eyes"